This post may contain affiliate links. For more info on this, visit my disclosure page. Thank you for your support in this way!

Get A Life Chloe Brown’s Back-of-Book Description

“Absolutely charming… a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page.” – Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Bride Test

A witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new thingsperfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family’s mansion. The next items?

  • Enjoy a drunken night out.
  • Ride a motorcycle.
  • Go camping.
  • Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
  • Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
  • And… do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

*Named a Best Romance of 2019 by Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, Apple, and Amazon, and Best of November from Essence, Woman’s Day, Marie Claire, Buzzfeed, Popsugar, Bustle, Bookish, Bookpage, Entertainment Weekly, and Washington Post*

My Thoughts

After my last book (which was amazing – see that review here), I wanted something light and easy to read. So I picked up this book and it was just what I was looking for!

I classified Get a Life, Chloe Brown to a friend as a sexy British rom-com but in book form, and honestly, that’s still how I would describe it. The humor is subtle and dry (it is Britsh after all), but the romance is big. It’s got all your basic tropes – boy meets girl, they don’t like each other much at first, and so on. And yes, there are some spicey, hot sex scenes!

The author does a really good job of getting the reader to care about the characters and see things from their separate points of view. It’s written in that style where it switches from one point of view to another, but (thankfully) it does it in a way that’s clear to understand and you know it’s coming.

I really appreciated the characters’ backstories and development, too! This might have been one of the first books I’ve read that has a main character with this particular medical ailment. I think that was a cool, interesting detail. Plus, it made the story feel more real that there were even medical ailments, to begin with.

The story takes place somewhere near London so the writing and dialogue are British. This doesn’t bother me, but if you’re an American and don’t usually read books from other countries it might be a bit weird at first. All that said, the author does a great job with the setting descriptions as well as the dialogue. it felt real and natural which I very much appreciate.

I honestly have no qualms with this book at all except that I think some of the situations felt a little forced in order to move the plot along. But I know with romances, this sometimes cannot be helped.

But the plot did move along, and enjoyably so. I finish Get a Life, Chloe Brown in about a week (which feels fast for me these days with all the other things I have going on).

 

Buy it now!

Kindle or Amazon

Favorite Quotes From Get A Life, Chloe Brown

“The human body was an inconvenient and unreasonable thing.”

 

“…because people didn’t change their lives by meekly giving up at the first heart-pounding hurdle. She was ready for this. Actually she wasn’t, but she’d do it anyway.”

 

“He still didn’t know why he’d agreed. Why he’d jumped headfirst into someone else’s weirdness when his focus should be on his own issues.”

 

“…because that’s how people should behave; they should fill in each other’s gaps.”

 

“Life hurts…It’s unavoidable. But I know the difference between torture and growing pains.”

 

“Bravery wasn’t an identity so much as a choice.”

In Conclusion

It sort of surprised me, but I really enjoyed Get A Life, Chloe Brown. 4 stars from me! Keep in mind that I don’t usually read straight-up romance books (although as I said before it’s kind of a romantic comedy) so your opinion might be higher. But for what it is, it’s great! It’s a delightful quick beachy read with some steamy, sexy scenes and some flawed characters who come together. The perfect palate cleanser before picking another thriller (or reading a textbook for school).

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes romances, comedies, or is looking for a diverse novel – I’m talking race, financial caste, health issues, emotional trauma, etc. Lots of inclusion here! It was really great.

 

Thanks so much for reading this review of Get A Life, Chloe Brown – there are plenty more reviews to check out here.  Be sure to share this site with other readers and consider pinning one of the quotes below to your favorite quote or book board!

"Why he’d jumped headfirst into someone else’s weirdness when his focus should be on his own issues.”
“…because that’s how people should behave; they should fill in each other’s gaps.”
“Bravery wasn’t an identity so much as a choice.”
“…because people didn’t change their lives by meekly giving up at the first heart-pounding hurdle. She was ready for this. Actually she wasn’t, but she’d do it anyway.”
“Life hurts…It’s unavoidable. But I know the difference between torture and growing pains.”
root directorygoogle.com, pub-8788340469212886, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0